N

noname223

Angelic
Aug 18, 2020
Honestly I barely know anything about this topic. But I find it fascinating. I never thought much about it. But David Foster Wallace mentioned it in one of his stories. DFW was brilliant at giving us an insight in how it must be in another consciousness. Literature shall COMFORTING THE DISTURBED AND DISTURBING THE COMFORTABLE. I think someone else said that prior to him. Reading literature can comfort you because you can feel as if you were inside the mind of another conscious being. I am no expert this is why I won't elaborate more on the literature thing.

Here is an interesting article. Do we only think a certain language? Probably not.

"Stop and think for a moment, if you would, about the way you think. Maybe before leaving home this morning, you thought to yourself, Don't forget to turn off the oven! Or, perhaps, after leaving, you said to yourself, "Damn, I forgot my keys." It feels natural enough, but in his new book, The Voices Within, Durham University psychologist Charles Fernyhough asks us to consider something most of us take for granted: Why do we think in words at all?"

"He notes that roughly 20 to 25 percent of waking time is spent with thoughts like these, language directed at ourselves. Some people keep up a patter with themselves for even more time. But couldn't we just imagine those keys, or that knob on the oven being turned down? After all, the easy answer for why language exists is that it fosters communication between people"

"Fernyhough has an answer in mind, but he first runs down several functions of talking to oneself. The first is motivation and focusing"

"Words can, it seems, help regulate our mood and direct our attention. Another purpose of self-talk could be changing specific behavior, like telling yourself "Stop fidgeting" during a job interview, or "Remember to follow through on your serve"