L

lemonhoney

Sep 29, 2022
Long time listener first time caller

I think I've been depressed since middle school. I had a rly effed up bf who would threaten self harm any time I made him mad or sad and then he would follow through. Fked with my head and I started SH too. In highschool I had enough and we had a dramatic breakup in the hallways.

I studied hard but not hard enough. I was in honors but didn't really belong there. I went to the first uni I got accepted into and just cruised in classes. Thinking back, I feel like I had brain fog the entire time. Got a gf who forced me to come out to my mom even tho I didn't think it was that important. Had a horrible fallout with my roommate who was racist and homophobic and called the cops on me.

I transferred to a bigger state school after my first year of uni and I was happy for once. I loved a big state school and made a lot of friends. But these friends were just for partying and going out. I never had real inspiration to work hard. I was still with the gf and we moved in together. 3 years go by of just cruising in classes and having fun, I become more distant with the gf and she cheats on me multiple times. I didn't have a huge reaction to the situation, I think I was just processing because I found out via the person she cheated with.

I eventually ended things with her but I wish I was more decisive. I didn't know how to be alone so I dragged things on while she made all sorts of promises. Meanwhile, a new character enters the season and kind of sweeps me off my feet. I date this new guy for 3 years and he recently broke up with me about a month ago. I didn't realize how perfect he was. I think he just liked me back then because I was pretty and available and I took that attention.