Z

zachw

Aug 4, 2024
Hey friends,
So I'm new here. I've been navigating chronic suicidality for the last 3+ years. This all started after a painful break up with my partner of nearly 10 years. If you had asked me before the break up if I would want to die if we broke up, I would have laughed at you. I am a smart, thoughtful, grounded person, or so I thought. Unfortunately, after the break up, something in me switched. I have completely lost my will to live. I attempted a number of times. I was hospitalized multiple times, did a couple residential programs and day programs. Over the last three years I have tried nearly 20 different medications, ECT, TMS, ketamine, MDMA, hypnosis, therapy, EMDR. I have an incredibly supportive friend group. I have a very loving family. My job is very meaningful. I have managed to do things these last three years. I have travelled and spent time with people I love. I've gone on dates and had sex. I have snuggled my cat. I delivered a set of powerful lectures. The list goes on. And yet, I still want to die. I cannot stop thinking about my ex and the life he has created with the person he left me for. I cannot get over him no matter how hard I try. I am 41 years old. I do not want to wake up at 50 and wish I had killed myself 10 years before. I don't really know what to do. I don't know what I'm looking for at this point. I don't want to keep hanging on. I feel so cowardly. I'm also angry that if I follow through the only thing I'll ever be remembered for is that I took my life. I also hate that there will never, ever, be accountability for my ex for destroying my life. I feel like 3 years of trying is long enough. It's so fucking embarrassing to not be over someone after 3 years. He's clearly moved on. Everyone else I know who has gone through divorce or break up moves on. Why is my brain so broken and why is dying the only thing that makes any sense?

• Hugs
Reactions: shrekbby, Roadrunner and AceVendetta7500
A

AceVendetta7500