wonderworld

wonderworld

w̶o̶n̶d̶e̶r̶w̶o̶r̶l̶d̶
Jun 5, 2020
what's your dream job???

(as in nothing was stopping you eg, mental illness, money etc)

• Hugs
Reactions: deadgirlahsatan, Deleted member 4993, death137 and 2 others
Life_and_Death

Life_and_Death

Do what's best for you 🕯️ Sometimes I'm stressed
Jul 1, 2020
Bakery.

• Love
Reactions: Toonloon, deadgirlahsatan, Isaiah and 9 others
Throwawaysoul

Throwawaysoul

Mage
May 14, 2018
Running a cat rescue or anything with no co-workers.

• Hugs
  • Love
Reactions: Toonloon, deadgirlahsatan, antigone_iris and 10 others
Dr Iron Arc

Dr Iron Arc

Into the Unknown
Feb 10, 2020
Sitting home and doing absolutely nothing meaningful or productive.

• Love
  • Hugs
Reactions: Shewasnomore, gottago222, Isaiah and 17 others
BipolarGuy

BipolarGuy

Enlightened
Aug 6, 2020
This is going to sound technical, even verging on geeky....

I've been working for myself for a few years doing accounting.

To be totally honest, I'll admit that I don't add as much value to businesses as I could. This is because I spend 90% of my time doing basic bookkeeping, VAT or payroll tasks that can very easily be done in house using modern accounting software, rather than business planning or other 'higher' stuff that I'd rather spend my time doing and could really help with.
I think getting me to do these easy tasks makes them feel 'more secure' in some way.

But this is where accounting firms take advantage of business owners: by convincing them to outsource basic tasks by making out that they're far more difficult and technical than they actually are!
And no, the business owner isn't saving money by freeing up their time - the things I'm talking about take no time at all, especially using modern cloud accounting software....which is where I'm going with this....

Accounting is one of those old school industries.
Software such as QuickBooks, Xero, Sage, etc has essentially been developed by accountants for accountants.