N

noname223

Angelic
Aug 18, 2020
I think this is a topic with many nuances. I am kind of exhausted college is very stressful but I will try.
edit: I realize this somewhat becomes a list of major mistakes therapists did in my treatment instead.

The first idea for this thread was. "I am not good at comforting other people in this forum." I think I struggle with that. The people here are so heterogenous. The cases are complex and just saying a platitude can annoy people. Sometimes I don't understand members because their way of perceiving the world is so different to mine. For example on the topic gore. I can remember watching those videos was poison for my brain. It was ambivalent. I was suicidal and wanted to approach death. But on ther other hand I realized that watching those videos was torture for my already tormented soul. It was stressful for sure. But this is not the main topic of this thread. When I realized how differently other people react to watching those videos this increased insecurity. I don't want to hurt other people. I try to give advices or I try to comfort people here. At the same time it gave me the feeling I am not trained for that. I am a noob on health issues and I don't want to spread too much half-knowledge. I don't want to be responsible that people here feel uncomfortable. Though on the other hand saying nothing cannot be the right solution. As I once wrote in a thread writing a lot in a forum full of suicidal people brings a certain responsiblity with it. At least this is how I feel about it. For example even when I have a heated debate on politics I still try to remind myself that the people here are struggling either. A heated debate is okay but it should not get too personal.