K

Kain10th

May 7, 2020
Are people simply born with a sense of morality or is it something that must be learned?

Good4Nothing

Good4Nothing

Unlovable
May 8, 2020
Learned. I'm 48, and I'm still learning. Morality is ever evolving. Or should be, if one is intellectually curious.

Mr2005

Mr2005

Don't shoot the messenger, give me the gun
Sep 25, 2018
It's better that it comes from you otherwise you're just following orders. I know what I think and it would make no difference if the law changed tomorrow

Fragile

Fragile

Broken
Jul 7, 2019
I think both. there are a lot of values that are learned from our natural instincts and some that are taught to us from the people around us and the way society shaped those ideas.

This is a really complicated topic since everyone has a different sense of morality and what they consider OK is the opposite of that in some people's book.

• Love
Reactions: sadghost, casctb, Quarky00 and 1 other person
Skathon

Skathon

"...scarred underneath, and I'm falling..."
Oct 29, 2018
...morality is always subjective.

Reactions: MaisieWilliamsLover, FusRohDracarys and a_strange_day
D

Deleted member 1465

_
Jul 31, 2018
Much of it is learned culturally, but some of it is innate. For example, the avoidance of incest is based on more than just a cultural taboo. Same with cannibalism. Extreme examples, but the rest is on a sliding scale.

Reactions: Fragile
Quarky00

Quarky00

Enlightened
Dec 17, 2019
Both .

You can say a mother not eating her children is evolution or survival , but it is also translated as a moral issue . Since not eating your children is not particularly subjective or learned , it would be false to claim that ethics are just learned or subjective . The fact that some mothers have eaten their children is the exception that proves the rule . This is one of the first things one would learn on introduction to ethics at university :)