E

Endeavour

Mage
Dec 13, 2020
I'm a traditional engineer, nuts and bolts and all that (but in electrical & electronics), so I'm not a super fan of quantum physics and other abstract ideas, or things like the law of attraction (maybe I'm missing something), but there's one thing that is unquestionably true that boggles my mind, and so far no one can explain it.

This is the dual slit experiment.

In essence, if you have a "gun" firing electrons randomly, one at a time, in random directions, and facing it is a screen with 2 slits in it, equal size, equal shape, etc - and behind that is a plate that will indicate (like a photographic plate) where the electrons hit...

Then what you'd expect is that some of the electrons hit the screen and bounce away, some of them go through slit 1, and some of them go through slit 2.

So the back plate should show 2 lines, one corresponding to slit 1, and one to slit 2.

What you actually get is an interference pattern, with rows of lines, several of them, like if you'd sent waves of water at the wall (see video below).

If you then set up a sensor so you can see which slit the electron goes through - the pattern on the wall changes to 2 lines.

Take away (or turn off the sensor) you get the interference pattern again.

2 lines suggests the electrons are particles, and an interference pattern suggests they are waves.

So it seems like just observing, i.e. being aware of what is actually happening changes the outcome of the experiment.

I suppose another way of thinking about it is that it's probabilities, but when you KNOW then there is no probability, there is only certainty.

Maybe we are so certain that things are going to be bad that they are, we have determined the outcome of the experiment, but normies don't have a clue since they don't think about it - this might happen, or that, or neither.

So do we determine our own reality, story, life, now, then, the future, etc? And it becomes like a self fulfilling prophecy for us?