S

SlowlyFalling

Apr 4, 2023
In the past, whenever I've self harmed, it was usually by beating myself (my head or legs) since that seemed the most convenient, and easiest to hide. But recently I've began cutting, but it doesn't seem to hurt that much, or provide any relief. Like I said, I'm just starting out with cutting, and I'm not sure if I'm doing it right. I assume cutting deeper makes it hurt more, but does it increase the feeling of relief? As far as my family knows, I'm clean, and I'd like them to keep thinking that. If cutting doesn't provide much more relief, am I better off just going back to beating myself, since I already know how to hide it?

• Love
Reactions: settheory, Spoon_Selfharms and LocalAngel
aubrey!

aubrey!

internet angel
Mar 11, 2023
cutting isn't for everyone. you can try going deeper, but the deeper you go the more damage it can do. light surface cuts work for me because i like the subtle burn and slowly leaking blood, but what works and doesn't varies for everybody. i guess it just takes experimenting.

Reactions: settheory
Upvote 0
redbathingduck

redbathingduck

Student
Mar 20, 2023
Did beating yourself help at all? If that worked for you and this doesn't then I don't see why you wouldn't go back to your old methods. Cutting is just one form of self harm/relief, doesn't work for everyone

Upvote 0
S

SlowlyFalling

Apr 4, 2023
Did beating yourself help at all? If that worked for you and this doesn't then I don't see why you wouldn't go back to your old methods. Cutting is just one form of self harm/relief, doesn't work for everyone
It used to help, but it didn't seem to work for this current bout of depression. I thought I might as well try something new.

Upvote 0
Viranamari

Viranamari

A Future Corpse
Feb 22, 2023