raltsrover

raltsrover

Ñom
Oct 14, 2023
Context: I have my finals this year and I've had absolutely no time for myself because I'm just studying all the time. I really wanna archieve my goals, so I dont care if I have to sacrifice my hours of rest to do it. The only problem that I've had with this routine is sleep. Constant stimulus made me anxious, therefore generating insomnia. My psychiatrist started me on citalopram to reduce my anxiety.

I've been able to sleep well since then, but the side effects are really affecting me. First of all I feel emotionally numb. I used to have extremely happy moments, but with this medication I can only feel "happy". I also lost the capacity to cry. What's making it unbearable is sexual disfunction, I lost almost all sensations. This makes my romantic relationship deteriorate :(.

I'm not really "sad" or in a bad mental state, but the lack of emotions and sensations makes me so bored. What would you guys recommend me to do to make this feelings a little better?

• Hugs
Reactions: Bells, Lostandlooking, アホペンギン and 3 others
mekurin

mekurin

Heading for something better than this
Jul 9, 2023
I'm on citalopram as well. 20mg
I had sexual dysfunction at first but I'm not sure how or why it sort of fixed itself. However I do get the numbness. I've been on these meds for nearly 3 months and I still feel numb. Honestly if you dislike these side effects it's best you talk to your psychiatrist tell them your side effects and ask for a change of medication. It's best to do it early before your body fully adjusts to citalopram because it will be hard to change

Reactions: raltsrover and itsraining
raltsrover

raltsrover

Ñom
Oct 14, 2023
I'm on citalopram as well. 20mg