E

eighthhouse

Jun 30, 2020
I'm struggling. I'm an amateur poet, and I had dreams of publishing something meaningful to contribute to the world, and now anyone can instantly do what I do by pressing a button, whether they respect the craft or not. I mean, I know GPT-3 poetry isn't great, but I also know the models are getting better. The field is about to be oversaturated with stuff much better than anything I could do alone made by people who don't even care. My talent feels worthless now. Ironically poetry had really helped me not want to commit suicide the past few years. I don't know if I can keep going because I feel I have no purpose anymore. Help?

• Aww..
  • Wow
Reactions: Ultracheese, StolenLife, Regen and 3 others
hungry_ghost

hungry_ghost

جهاد
Feb 21, 2022
I didn't even know such a thing existed until this post.

I'm a poet as well, but I write very rarely nowadays.

I guess it's kind of like AI-generated art, as well, right?

Although, I think deep down people will always prefer the real and organic, versus the vapid, lazily and quickly produced "inferior copy".

Reactions: Regen
chocolatebar

chocolatebar

Paragon
Jul 11, 2021
Is the art in the process or in the physical mount?

When you write a poem, you try to evoke emotions into the reader, you try to pass a message, or something else, but most importantly, you feel everything yourself.

An automated software can join words according to a theme, and following a certain style, but that's it.

There's a lot of nuance in this matter, but I see these kind of software more like tools than anything. You may or may not use them to create artistic works.