P

PainAndSadness

Student
Sep 21, 2022
I've read many places in this forum that people using the charcoal burning method in their car by sealing the windows/ ventilation etc. but I wondered what if you were to just do the charcoal method in the back of a small van? It has no walls and is tightly shut anyways, you could also use tape to make sure more but wouldn't that be more efficient/seal proof since it has no windows or anything ?

counting-out-time

counting-out-time

Just “hanging around”
Oct 10, 2022
As a mechanic I know that cars and vans are not air tight, as it would be the same with a car that is in deep water the water will fill up very quickly through the air vents and any holes or gaps in the body to keep fresh air coming in

Reactions: GrumpyFrog
madebrief

madebrief

Experienced
Jul 4, 2022
The key thing is to be absolutely certain. When opting for the CO method, you want to reduce all possible escape of CO or intake of fresh oxygen. While a van might be ideal, as with a car, some people have died without taking extra precautions when reading the news. Likewise, in a tent, some people have accidentally died that way without completely sealing the tent.
When it comes to making your own arrangements, it won't be as simple as that although we'd like it to be. To be certain of the methods not failing, you need to cover your backsides.

counting-out-time

counting-out-time

Just “hanging around”
Oct 10, 2022
I think a tent would be ideal but all zips and seams need sealing up with duck tape. Also the material used in tents is it breathable? If so then gonna be tricky. Suppose you could rent a bomb shelter like from the simpsons where Springfield get nuked and Homer is saved. They must be air tight

Throwawaysoul

Throwawaysoul

Mage
May 14, 2018
What about the back of a uhaul?

Reactions: boristafar and Sick of it all
L

lifeORdeath

Student
Oct 11, 2022