spiritflowerchan

spiritflowerchan

May 22, 2024
I graduated HS around 3 months ago now. I do not feel prepared for adulthood, but something in me is forcing to do so and I hate it. I'm fine with adult life, but everything about it seems depressing and lifeless to me. Maybe as someone who's 18 that doesn't really know much about shit in life I should stop being afraid but this feeling is taking over me. I don't want to work just to feed myself. I don't want to be a slave to some company. I don't want to grow up and outlive my parents. I don't want to be alone with this.

I feel so guilty, because I honestly just feel like a lazy piece of shit right now. And I don't want people to know me as a person who just wants to sit around doing nothing and being a completely worthless bum. I can't handle this new reality that I'm about to be thrown into.

• Love
Reactions: pleaseiwanttogo, Grimpoteuthis, divinemistress36 and 2 others
nir

nir

26/F/Canada
Aug 18, 2024
I definitely felt this when I turned 18. Your mileage may vary, but I feel happier now at 26 than at 18 fwiw (still depressed, but my brain functions better. I think it's the fact your prefrontal cortex develops fully by age 25).

Are you planning on college/university? My best advice is to continue to have hobbies, no matter what they are. I gave up on some hobbies when I got really depressed and it's soooo hard to pick them back up again. The happiest adults I know are people who have things they do outside of work - hobbies, friend groups, nerdy shit. That stuff keeps them alive and mentally healthy. Never underestimate the power of a good time, even if it's something that others would consider "frivolous" or geeky. The world really prioritises hustle culture right now, but I think we should prioritise working enough to make a living and then throwing ourselves at what makes us happy. Don't work yourself to the bone because you're an adult now.

• Hugs
Reactions: Grimpoteuthis and kinderbueno
spiritflowerchan