Xocoyotziin

Xocoyotziin

Scorpion
Sep 5, 2020
Hello
So I'm staying in a tent at a nice little campground at the moment
This is my first time "properly" camping alone, and I've made a few mistakes
Like not bringing a flashlight aside from my phone and bringing fewer utensils than I should have
Things have been going smoothly enough and I've improvised a bit

I was cozying up and getting ready to sleep after streaming some netflix when I realized something: I have a cooler full of food sitting next to me, thankfully with no meat which I figure is most enticing. And then I thought of bears. The first thing I did like a true noob was jump on google to hopefully assuage my fears but that did not work when I read basically everywhere that storing food in your tent is a well known camping no-no and that I'm an idiot for not thinking of it earlier. I have no car to relocate it to so instead of sleeping I'm going to sit on this picnic bench and chain smoke all night, which I'm not sure you're allowed to do, because even if it's statistically unlikely I'd rather not be ambushed in my sleep.

I had earlier been thinking for unrelated reasons about how I've never been in a serious physical conflict, I'm a mega wuss and I've failed every test to assert dominance I've been presented with, especially with dogs, who can smell my wuss pheromones and almost universally hate me.

I read about people who somehow scared off bear invaders but I am 90% sure if it happened to me I'd be mauled to death after a split second where they'd measure me up as the non-threat I am, without a chance to explain myself and why killing me is unnecessary. This, to me, is very different from the careful, measured, and merciful death I could give myself.
Though it's the primary and often only means of communicating with animals, this "instinctive arena" bleeds into human relationships a lot as well.