N

noname223

Angelic
Aug 18, 2020

There is different literature and opinions on this topic.
I am pro medication for mental health. I benefit from taking currently 3 different medication. My life quality got better due to taking them. Though I also want to warn people.

Especially when you start taking AD it can increase suicidality. This is at least my experience. I am not an expert but I have also read about it. During my last extreme major depression I started taking an AD. I was extremely agitated to that time. I am quite convinced the AD increased my suicidality. I was way more impulsive due to it. I tried partial, went for looking down from a balcony of a high building. I am pretty sure my suicidality was increased due to the AD. I could feel it.

Yeah but I think mental health medication can have longterm a lot of benefits. But to this time it was not that helpful. It was the wrong medication, at the wrong time.

I have met many people at clinics. Some explained how they improved after starting AD. I have met a woman who told me she wanted to jump in front of a train. But when she started an AD she fully recovered from depression and felt completely healthy again.

Here is an interesting article about this phenomenon.

"Antidepressants have also been linked to akathisia, which is extreme restlessness and an inability to sit still. The discomfort can be so great that suicide becomes a welcome alternative to feeling this type of agitation."

This fits 100 % what i have experienced. Exactly this increased my pressure to act on my suicidal thoughts.

Seemingly especially young people can get stronger suicidal thoughts because of AD. I think the article talks mostly about SSRI.