Nuclear Gandhi

Nuclear Gandhi

May 11, 2020
I guess the title is self-explanatory. I am studying neuroscience and always wanted to become a scientist. But due to my mental health I feel like it's becoming less and less possible for me. My cognitive abilities and memory are a complete mess.
Would love to hear perspectives and stories of others. How do you cope? Have you ever thought of career change?

• Hugs
Reactions: mediocre, Deleted member 14573, FusRohDracarys and 2 others
D

Deleted member 14573

Feb 2, 2020
Hey Nuclear,

I study pure maths and computer science (undergraduate) and I really enjoy it. Besides my studies, I was very active in our faculty's student society, organising hackathons, industry events, etc. I'm a casual tutor for first year students, and I am also partaking in a research project at my uni in a particular area that fascinates me and I want to pursue.

Since the tragedies in my life happened earlier this year it has been very difficult to concentrate on anything. I used to have big goals but I have no interest achieving those things anymore.

I went from being a high achiever to rotting alone in my room in the span of a few months. I have been to therapy and I am still very suicidal.

I know it sounds like my life is fine and I have a future, but I have lost almost all my energy to keep pushing through these grueling days.

I plan to kill myself before the year ends.

What is your situation with your mental health, if you don't mind me asking?

• Hugs
  • Wow
Reactions: Epsilon0, RileyTanaka, Nuclear Gandhi and 2 others
HelensNepenthe

HelensNepenthe

Thoughtful poster
Jan 17, 2019
STEM student here with a focus in cyber security.

> Would love to hear perspectives and stories of others. How do you cope? Have you ever thought of career change?