T

Triangle

Jan 29, 2020
I recognize that I have major depression, but I don't really "accept" other disorders I've been told I have. I don't think it's fair that I'm told that I have social anxiety when I can feel perfectly calm speaking to others so long as I'm in a calm mood. Just because I'm avoidant and nervous in times when I'm already feeling vulnerable doesn't mean I'm inherently anxious in social situations—everybody gets in moods where it's overwhelming to interact with others. I mostly resent being told I'm autistic or variants of the spectrum because of my personality. People are allowed to be bad at cooking, singing, drawing, etc. and they don't suddenly have "culinary disorder" or something like that, but I'm not very good at communicating in certain ways and suddenly I have a disorder? There's "something wrong" with me because I just don't have that one particular skill? That doesn't seem fair at all.

People are so stuck on trying to match personal difficulties with mental disorders and I can't stand the mindset. I feel like I'm being constantly told "there's something wrong with you, you're dysfunctional, you're broken" for simply having individual difficulties. Even when people aren't trying to be disrespectful and aren't trying to imply mental illness is bad, it just feels like my flaws are being made into huge problems.