Green Destiny

Green Destiny

Life isn't worth the trouble.
Nov 16, 2019
I've always enjoyed reading over the years and would like to write a short story. Problem is that 1. I haven't written anything since High School a decade ago and 2. My writing was never good to begin with. I'm not good with grammar, preventing plot holes or making drawn out over descriptive paragraphs and or repeating words every other sentence. Any tips for a real novice would be appreciated.

BlankZeroNone

BlankZeroNone

May 6, 2023
I'm not good with grammar, preventing plot holes or making drawn out over descriptive paragraphs and or repeating words every other sentence.
That's not something you can get good at. Your first draft is going to have all these things regardless of your skill as a writer. They have to be fixed during editing afterwards, so don't worry about them. The first draft is supposed to be trash anyway.

Other than that – just read a bunch of short stories and think about what works and what doesn't and what you enjoy about them. Read a lot and then just start writing.

sometimes.sometimes

sometimes.sometimes

Student
Jun 4, 2023
When you are writing a story, don't spend too much time on it at once. That is how you become bored with your story. If you sense a feeling of boredom, take a break from it for a little bit. Once you are finished with your rough draft and are ready to revise, also take a break from it before the revision. It doesn't need to be too long, just do what is right for you. This, in my opinion, is the most important piece of information to know. (along with believing in yourself and your potential)