M

meioalguem

Sep 3, 2021
en
I would like to know if anyone here tried to change careers before attempting suicide, but realized that they continued to have suicidal ideations. Anyone here like this?
I reflect a lot lately on whether making a career transition will be of any use.

pt

Gostaria de saber se há alguem aqui antes de tentar suicidio tentou antes mudar de carreira, mas percebeu que continua com as ideações suicidas. Alguém aqui assim?
Reflito muito ultimamente se fazer transição de carreira vai servir de algo.

Reactions: bloodystarzklt
Spike Spiegel

Spike Spiegel

Sep 26, 2022
I was suicidal during some of my undergraduate and graduate studies. My suicidal urges were not rooted in the career I was working but instead, extreme anxiety followed by depression lead to those thoughts and urges. I do think my frustration with my studies was a background factor. I have a masters in criminal justice and was focused on the opioid epidemic, specifically safe injection sites. I originally wanted to go further with my degrees, get a PhD and do research for a big university. However PhD programs are very political, hard to get into, and often struggle from the replication crisis going on. My school was downsizing it's program and with the Pandemic that was going on at the time, my experience was not ideal.