P

Paradox_

Jul 2, 2019
Disclaimer: I am a suicidal therapist. I hope that doesn't scare you. I am most likely not YOUR therapist.

Okay, now to my dilemma.

I have struggled with depression and an eating disorder since I was a child. I have thought about suicide as a way out since age 11, and more seriously considered it by age 14. I've been on countless medications, and tried various behavioral and talk therapies. I've been hospitalized numerous times for both depression and anorexia. I have attempted suicide once (hydrogen sulfide, unsuccessful).

I decided to become a therapist because 1. I needed to figure out a career for myself and 2. I'm a decent therapist when I'm not depressed. I am probably decent enough when I am depressed, given that I'm depressed 50% of the time and still have a full caseload in my private practice.

I realize now I am actually trying to tell people why I became a therapist so that I'm not judged harshly for treating patients while depressed. I've been working in the field for nearly ten years and since I started I've felt a need to keep the severity of my depression a secret from others because I worry about their judgement, given my career. Unfortunately, this likely leads to a bad cycle because I feel very alone in my near constant suicidal ideation.

I wonder how other therapists deal with this. I've been thinking more seriously about suicide recently but of course I worry about those I leave behind. Patients, family members, my pets. Mostly depression is pervasive and in my mind no one will actually care because my presence here does more harm than good. But rationally, I can accept this thought MAY be based within the reality of depression, which is in all likelihood a delusional reality.

I bought sodium nitrate a few months ago. That would be my preferred way out.

any other therapists on this site who can relate? I feel so lonely and I keep isolating myself. I really need a community who understands.

• Hugs
  • Love