TheSoulless

TheSoulless

I'd like to fly but my wings have been so denied
Jan 7, 2020
I dare to call myself a musician, though I'm not a professional. I play multiple instruments, and since I can't decide which one to focus one, I'm destined to play them at an average level.

The thing is that depression has killed music for me. I do play, but it's not that exciting or anything. I just do it. Sometimes I get caught in the moment and it's good. But when I listen to music, it's worse. It doesn't bring out any emotional response whatsoever. It just is there, and I hate that. I'd like to compose about depression or similar subjects, I've tried, but it's too enormous of a task.

So, what's your relationship with music like?

• Hugs
Reactions: K-O, Epsilon0, Brick In The Wall and 1 other person
D

Deleted member 14573

Feb 2, 2020
I started taking violin lessons at a young age. I did not like it initially and thought that my practice sessions were an unendurable chore.

At some point I began to enjoy it and it became an nice outlet. I enjoyed doing things where I could focus my mind and "pour" myself into. This included music, painting and dancing.

It's been 4 years since I have taken my violin out of the case. I still have it but I've lost interest. I feel that I've lost a lot of my skill as well. I have a couple of friends at uni who have gone pretty far with music production (lots of listeners). I'm really happy for them, but I also feel that I am letting my musical talent waste away.

I enjoy listening to music though and it's what I do around 60% of my day (while I study, clean etc). It gets my imagination going and has made my life bearable thus far.

Last edited:
  • Love
Reactions: Life sucks, K-O, TheSoulless and 1 other person
K

kkatt

Paragon
Nov 12, 2018
I guess you could call me a musician in the very losest term. Basically,I have zero skills and steal music from those that do/