T

the_summoning

Nov 8, 2023
I started seeing a new therapist through one of those online therapy platforms, Talkspace. I expressed that I felt empty and wished I was dead, which is a thought and feeling have most of the time. She of course asked me if I was ok and if I had the intention of harming myself, the usual. I didn't answer and she linked a safety plan PDF for me to fill out. I believe that everyone has the right to choose whether or not they want to end their own life and on what terms but I know this is unpopular which is why I joined this form for like minded people.

I'm new to therapy though and I really don't feel comfortable filling out this form since it does ask for people to contact and my family doesn't know that I'm struggling mentally and certainly don't know that I have suicidal ideations. I've also read that expressing anything like that to therapist could cause them to send people to your home to forcibly institutionalize you. My main question is if I'm obligated to fill out a safety plan and if so can I at least avoid listing contacts? I'd like to know this before I continue with anymore sessions. I reached out to her but no answer thus far.

Thanks for any advice you can give.

penguinl0v3s

penguinl0v3s

Wait for Me 💙
Nov 1, 2023
I would just put fake names on the form. I would be uncomfortable with that question too.

Reactions: Kit1
Cloud Busting

Cloud Busting

Formerly pinkribbonscars
Sep 9, 2023
I would just put fake names on the form. I would be uncomfortable with that question too.
This is a great suggestion and I wish I would have done that while in the psych ward. Idk why it didn't occur to me.

It's absolutely dumb to think we should call our friends and family who are not equipped to help us in a suicidal crisis and don't want to hear about it either way. Why burden them?

We need a different model for safety plans.

Reactions: Kit1
M

misthios2040

Smile now it’s almost over
Sep 20, 2023