druggedonsurvival

druggedonsurvival

Student
Feb 8, 2024
Hello everyone, I am in that group of users here who does want to recover. However, I have never been able to get past my personal cynicism at the idea of trying. I find my pessimistic outlook on life to be perfectly logical, although I can recognize when I am being unreasonable if I, for example, think that somebody hates me because they reacted to something I said in a way I didn't expect (but I tend to go on thinking they hate me despite this recognition).

My life is in a pretty good place right now: I'm almost finished with my last semester as an undergraduate, I've got this internship going, overall I've been pretty productive and I'm in a good position to follow I career path I find genuinely fulfilling. I used to think that would put me in a much better place because what caused my depression originally was this idea that I'd have to work some shitty job I hate until I die. However, I am not happy because I feel isolated and alone. I have no friends, and have never been in a relationship which is something I desire. I've been self-harming and resorting to hard liquor to cope with this intense feeling of distance. None of my peers or my colleagues or supervisors knows I'm going through this, which makes me feel even more alone (no way in hell they'd want to hear me talk about this, and I'm not sure I'd want them to know anyway).